Three Things Thursday

Random thoughts for a random day.  (Also known as a new strategy to keep the pithy blog commentary coming at ya.)

1.  The weather.  WHAT is with the weather lately, DC?!   Slow last week, and Monday my office opened two hours late for an alleged “wintry mix” (total nonsense, but it was legit frigid all weekend).  Yesterday was practically tropical.  And now freezing temps and snow are on their way back to town and threatening to destroy Hubz and I’s glorious weekend hiking getaway plans.  I feel like I’m back in the Great Plains with all this climatic schizophrenia.  With all this back and forth our poor Kittays can’t decide if they’re warm or cold, and have lunged over a cliff into utter fits of fashion confusion.

IMAG0349

2.  Bike tech troubles.  I’m a total clown hands with all things bike related lately.  My cleat keeps coming loose on my right shoe and getting stuck in the pedal.  No matter how many times I tighten it up it keeps happening.  This is especially problematic when it gets to the point that it just rotates and breaks off into the pedal rather than actually unclipping.  Especially when it’s a pedal on a spin bike at the gym.  And then you have to spend 10 minutes pulling with all your damn might to get in unclipped while the cranky ladies in their fancy color-coordinated fitness gear, who arrive to their spin class 30 minutes ahead of time to make sure they can reserve *just* the right bike (even though they are all IDENTICAL), look on in disgust.

Meanwhile, I’m having non-stop ish with my trainer.  I just can’t get it adjusted properly so that there’s actual useful resistance without burning the tread right off my tire.  It’s a bad sign when it smells like burning two floors above my basement bike cave, right?  Now my tire appears to be melting slightly as well?  I need help.

Hoping to get in for a professional bike fit next weekend and get some help with both of these in the process…..or learn some tricks from this guy:

images

3.  Nuts.  Specifically, deez nuts:

513FC0upBNL._SL500_AA300_Hubz brought these home for me as a surprise last weekend.  I have to pack snack size bags each day – I literally cannot bring the entire can with me to work for danger of inhaling it all at once.  They’ve probably got too much sugar on them to be considered a “healthy snack”, but why not throw some nutrition into your dessert?  (And why not consume 50% of your daily calories in nut form?  Healthy fats, RIGHT?!?!?!)

2 thoughts on “Three Things Thursday

Leave a comment