Weekly Plan: May 13-19 (11 weeks to IMLP)

So last week was kind of a bust, weather-wise and therefore bike-wise. I ended up doing all three rides on the trainer due to rain or the serious threat of it. BLECH. No good. I even pounded out my long run (3.5 hours) on the trainer on Saturday morning because the forecast called for scary thunderstorms. Which of course never materialized, but I sure as heck didn’t want to end up stranded in Potomac with lightning and thunder all around. Annoying. *Grumble infinity*

I did, however, have a fantastic long run on Sunday morning. We were up in PA to celebrate my ma-in-law’s birthday so I got to try out the path in Peace Valley Park. I forgot to grab my Garmin so I ran tech-free for the first time in quite a while. Kind of nice to have a mental break from obsessing over those numbers for once. It was such a beautiful morning – sunny and perfect temperature – and I ran two peaceful 10K loops around the lake for just over 12 miles.

919590_10100288617744568_1672466402_o

Weekly Total – 13 hours 52 minutes
Swim – 2 hours 50 minutes, 7400 yards
Bike – 6 hours, ~80 miles
Run – 4 hours, ~23.5 miles
Yoga – 1 hour

This week, and every week from now on, is all about the BIKE BIKE BIKE! Coaches have instructed me that IT’S GO TIME! and updated my master plan with prescribed bike distances for every weekend from here on out. It’ll be double bikes every week with the exception of races (Eagleman and the Aquabike at Rev3 Williamsburg), and race simulation workouts. Woo hoo!

download

And on THAT note….this weekend I’ll be knocking out my first of the two big race simulation workouts because I’ll be 10 weeks out from race day! This means a loooooong bike followed by an hour long run right off the bike. It’s gonna be all about nutrition and hydration, friends. I’m even going to draft up a nutrition plan for coach approval! I’m excited to have an excuse to try some new ProBar flavors.

For the rest of the week, I really only have one workout each day (with the exception of Thursday which is telework day so I’m doubling up). Here’s how it looks…

Monday: swim with aids
Tuesday: threshold interval bike + short off the bike run
Wednesday: 50 minute run w/strides
Thursday: swim/pull interval swim + bike w/short intervals
Friday: long race simulation swim
Saturday: big race simulation workout! 80 mile bike + 1 hour run. Ride, run, chug chocolate milk, (do not under any circumstances) repeat.
Sunday: REST

I’ll also be throwing in a couple of short strength workouts for hips/IT band.

Meanwhile, look what Hubz picked up for me at the fancy Wegman’s yesterday morning…

IMAG0455Now y’all know I’m a sucker for fancy chocolate. And see that description – “popping candy exploding in dark chocolate”? This biz has POP ROCKS IN IT. Amazing. Chocolate has evolved and it is delicious.

Were you sidelined by the weather this weekend?

Tried any fancy new chocolates lately?

One thought on “Weekly Plan: May 13-19 (11 weeks to IMLP)

  1. I can’t believe you are 10 weeks out!! so CRAZY! Sounds like an awesome weekend planned!

    I had a pretty fantastic weather weekend. Lots of bike riding in the 70-80 degrees!! I hope you get some good weather for next weekend!

Leave a Reply

