Race Simulation Weekend #1: Game Plan!

This weekend is my first big race simulation extravaganza!

Tonight, I swam 3500 – 6 x 500 after a 500 warmup. I was pretty worried that it was going to be super duper boring. I’ve been trying to use these long swims as a bit of meditation time…counting my strokes and getting into a zen zone. Tonight was longest so far and with long sets to boot…luckily I felt a *bit* more zen than “omg this is why people buy those silly pool mp3 players gah!” I am actually really happy with how it turned out. I managed to keep a good and consistent pace all the way through the workout.

SWIMMING_7

And tomorrow is the BIG day. I’ll head out bright and early for a total of 80 miles on the bike, to be followed by an hour run. I’m going to do the first 30 miles on my own, then meet up with Miss D in Rock Creek to do the 50 mile Potomac loop together. I’ll be doing my best to keep it in Zone 2 for the whole ride, which means I will probably feel like I’m barely moving up some of those hills on River Road towards the end…because I will be barely moving up them. There is some chance of showers but we’ll ride through it unless it’s an absolute deluge, or thunder and lightning. 80 miles will be my longest ride yet, so I’m glad I’ll have a week’s worth of D’s stories about her online dating hijinx to keep me entertained.

Once we finish the loop I’ll ride across town to home, ditch the bike for a visor and water belt, and run for an hour. More precisely, run 9 minutes, then walk 1 minute.  Times 6. Yeehaw. Looking forward to seeing how I feel/hold up on the run. What? Looking forward to the end of a 7 hour workout? Yeah I am…what is wrong with me!?

Of course, the big goal for tomorrow is to make it all the way through the work out without feeling like poop. The key? Nutrition and hydration! I’ll be throwing back one bottle of Infinit per hour (I mean it!) on the bike, supplemented with a ProBar or two, a banana, and a PB&J. Yuuuuuuuummmm. Then I’ll do a gel and water on the run. Then home to a big ol’ bottle of chocolate milk, my couch, and multiple glorious Buffy eps on streaming. 

AtIYLDjCEAI8dzzHey, Buffy marathons are only appropriate after a day of badassery. And also every day.

All the while through my race simulation, I’ll be tracking one of my coaches (Mr.) kicking butt and taking names at IMTX! This (plus like a million hours due to our relative speediness differences) will be my constant mental reminder of what’s really in store for me in 11 weeks…

Any race simulation workout tips?

Anyone else still watch Buffy wayyyy too often?

One thought on “Race Simulation Weekend #1: Game Plan!

  1. Well you are already done!! How did it go? The plan sounded great! That is a long day!! You are probably sleeping by now!! 🙂
    My biggest tip: is get your nutrition dialed in NOW!! while you are training!! So Important!!

Leave a Reply

